This glossary of terms intends to provide the TESDA key players, partners, and stakeholders an online and updated TVET information, concepts, to bring common understanding and clarification on the use of TESDA terminologies.


refers to the division of industry used in the Training Regulations, e.g. Automotive/Land Transport, Metals and Engineering, Construction, etc. As a criterion, it is the minimum number of industry sectors that cover all the registered program offerings of the TVI. 

Source: (TESDA Circular No. 090, s. 2018)

a group composed of representatives of industry associations, organizations, TVET institutions, labor groups and concerned government agencies who are working directly with TESDA in skills planning, standards development, assessment and certification, and promotion of TVET.  

Source: (2010 TVET Glossary of Terms)

is based on a training (and working) agreement between an apprentice and a master craftsperson wherein the agreement may be written or oral and the master craftsperson commits to training the apprentice in all the skills relevant to his or her trade over a significant period of time, usually between one and four years, while the apprentice commits to contributing productively to the work of the business. Training is integrated into the production process and apprentices learn by working.

Source: (TESDA Circular No. 181 s. 2020)

is a lifelong process of learning by which every person acquires and accumulates knowledge, skills, attitudes, and insights from daily experiences at home, at play, and from life itself.

Source: (IRR of RA No. 10968)

refers to making meaningful change to improve the delivery and/or effectiveness of the program to create new value to learners and other stakeholders or change to improve the management of any part of the institution’s system that has an impact on the students. Innovation involves the adoption of an idea, process, technology, and product that is new to the previous application to the program. The outcome of program innovation is a breakthrough or change in results, products, or processes. 

Source: (TESDA Circular No. 99 s. 2019)

is the plan of organization and all the coordinated methods and measures adopted within SRA to safeguard its assets, check the accuracy and reliability of its accounting data, and encourage adherence to prescribed managerial policies (adopted from the National Guidelines on Internal Control System-NGICS issued by DBM).  

Source: (TESDA Circular No. 079 s., 2020)

refers to the systematic examination and definition of issues/complaints received by the Agency.

Source: (TESDA Circular No. 123 s. 2020)

the process of examining a job in detail to identify its component task; the detail and approach may vary according to the purpose for which the job is being analyzed, e.g. training, equipment design, work layout.

Source: (TESDA TVET Glossary of Terms, 2010)

refers to the gateway in the ladderized curriculum which one reaches upon acquiring enough skills and knowledge to seek and find employment. 

Source: (RA No. 10647, IRR of the Ladderized Education Act of 2014)
  • refers to the latest reports ad researches which pertain to crucial skills that are in demand in today’s competitive labor market. This shall also refer to labor market information reports issued by the DOLE, TESDA, DTI, private institutions, and other relevant organizations on the functioning of the labor market, the available labor resources, employment opportunities, and other information such as wage rates, qualifications, employment conditions, and among others. (TESDA Circular No. 131, s. 2019) 
  • it provides insights on current trends, issues, and challenges available in the local and international labor markets, both demand, and supply. The LMIR is used in the determination of priority skills for the Training Regulation development, for policy formulation, especially in directing and aligning TVET programs with labor market requirements.

Source: -

Page 6 of 99