This glossary of terms intends to provide the TESDA key players, partners, and stakeholders an online and updated TVET information, concepts, to bring common understanding and clarification on the use of TESDA terminologies.

Competency Framework
refers to the determined competency profile expected from each member of the TESDA workforce based on competency standards. These competencies clustered in each level are intended to be distinct and cumulative, with each level building on the levels below. It has four levels: basic – requires guidance or assistance of peer or supervisor to apply the competency; intermediate – applies the competency with minimal supervision advanced – develops new or enhances existing processes, procedures, and policies; and superior – integrates efforts of one or more practitioners and recommends.
Source: TESDA Human Resource Development Plan 2019 -2022 & Memorandum No.313, series of 2018
Competency Standard (CS)
defines the knowledge, skills, and values required for competent performance in the industry.
Source: TESDA Circular No. 41, s. 2017 a specification of performance determined by the organization which sets out the skills, knowledge, and attitudes required to operate effectively in employment. Competency standards are made up of units of competency, which are themselves made up of elements of competency, together with performance criteria, a range of variables, and an evidence guide.
Source: TESDA Circular No. 119, s. 2019; TESDA-OP-AS-0 refer to the industry-determined specification of competencies required for effective work performance.  They are expressed as outcomes and they focus on workplace activity rather than training or personal attributes and capture the ability to apply skills in new situations and changing work organization.
Source: TR Framework  per TESDA Board Resolution No. 2014-04
Competency-Based Curriculum (CBC)
refers to the specifications for a program or module, which describes all the learning experiences a learner undergoes. It generally includes learning outcomes, contents, conditions, methodologies, and assessment methods. It specifies outcomes, which are consistent with the requirements of the workplace as defined in the Training Regulations (TRs) or based on industry or community consultations and/or supported by a demand or employability study for NTR.
Source: TESDA Circular No. 018, s. 2023
Competency-Based Learning Materials (CBLM)
refers to a well-designed and carefully developed learning materials (hard or soft copy) that provide detailed instruction to guide and help a learner acquire the necessary knowledge, skills, and attitude of a specific unit of competency on a self-paced learning modality. It contains the learner guide, list of competencies, summary of competencies, summary of learning outcomes, learning experiences, information sheet, self-check, tasks sheet, operation sheet, job sheet, and performance criteria checklist.
Source: TESDA Circular No. 062 s. 2020
Competency-Based Learning System
refers to a system by which the learner is trained on the basis of demonstrated ability.
Source: R.A. No. 11230
Competency-Based Training
refers to a system by which the learner acquires a competency or a qualification based on demonstrated ability rather than on the time spent on training.
Source: TESDA Circular 107, s. 2021
properly or sufficiently qualified or fit to perform tasks associated with the job.
Source: Wahba 2013; TESDA Circular No. 107, s. 2021
the formal or informal expression of customer dissatisfaction with service received from the TESDA.
Source: Operating Procedure - Customer Satisfaction Management System
Complex Transaction
refer to requests or applications submitted by clients of a government office which necessitate the use of discretion in the resolution of complicated issues by an officer or employee of said government office, such transaction to be determined by the office concerned.
Source: TESDA Circular No. 123 s. 2020
Compliance Audit

refers to the process of verifying the compliance of an institution with the minimum requirements per Training Regulations, Unified TVET TVET Program Registration and Accreditation System (UTPRAS) and Philippine TVET Competency and Certification System (PTCACS) guidelines

Source: TESDA Circular No. 47, s. 2022; TESDA-OP-IAS-02 Rev. 02 - Compliance Audit for PTCACS; TESDA-OP-IAS-01 Rev. 01 - For Program Registration

Page 18 of 113