TESDA-led PRLEC expands services in regions, provinces

July 20, 2019

The Poverty Reduction, Livelihood and Employment Cluster (PRLEC) of the National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-ELCAC) headed by the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), marshals new strategies that ensure better services for communities, as part of the state’s efforts to further promote sustainable and inclusive peace.

The NTF-ELCAC was established through the Executive Order No. 70 s. 2018, assembling national government agencies (NGAs) and the private sector to aid communities in need of assistance and social development.

“We are further strengthening our efforts in support to EO 70. The PRLEC is currently working on a proposal for Tier 2 Budget for 2020, amounting to PHP 1.457 Billion. This budget will cover 17 regions and 46 provinces, including 63 Mobile Training Laboratories, 63 units of motor vehicles, and operating expenses for 63 priority areas,” TESDA Secretary Isidro "Sid" Lapeña said.

Building on previous milestones, the PRLEC is now focused on creating Regional Action Plans and implementing Pilot Convergence Projects using Value Chain models, which address each community’s identified areas of concern.

The inter-agency cluster is also set to implement project personnel capacity building programs.

Originally composed of 12 agencies, the PRLEC has since forged new partnerships, and now comprises 24 members in total.

The PRLEC has already conducted three (3) national-level meetings, and now leads six (6) sub-clusters namely: Entrepreneurship and Marketing, Employment, Training, Financing, Institutional Development, and Food Production.

The said sub-clusters are headed by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), TESDA, Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) and Department of Agriculture (DA), respectively.

14 regional PRLE Clusters – Regions I, II, IV-A, IV-B, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) and CARAGA - have also been formally organized and convened. The remaining regions are set to consolidate their respective working cluster within the month of July. Region III is set to organize its working cluster on July 22.

“As of July 17, we now have a total of 1,482 former rebels (FRs) and 35,864 indigenous peoples (IPs) who have graduated from our skills training programs. We have also provided assistance and training to 921 soldiers wounded-in-action (WIA), and families of soldiers killed-in-action (KIA).

TESDA aims to capacitate as many special clients as possible, as part of our mandate as an agency, as well as in support to the national endeavor to promote sustainable and inclusive peace, “ Lapeña added.

Back to List